For those who live in New York, there are a variety of reasons as to why your licenses may be either suspended or revoked. Your license may be suspended for certain driving offenses and convictions, or even for failing to pay child support. Some of the reasons for license suspension or revocation include:
- Homicide or assault if driving
- Criminal negligence resulting in death if driving
- Leaving the scene of an accident
- Speed contests/racing
- Three or more speeding convictions within 18 months
- Failing to exercise due care
- Failing to pay child support
- Failing to appear in court when required to
- Certain drug crimes
- Three violations for passing a school bus
- Abandoning a vehicle
- Advocating the overthrow of the government
- (In New York City or Buffalo) Assault against a traffic officer
- Operating a vehicle under the influence
- Failing to exercise due care
- Habitual traffic law violations
Getting Back a Suspended or Revoked License
The time that it takes for you to get back a suspended or revoked license is dependent upon various factors. It is strictly prohibited to drive on a suspended or revoked license, but once it is time to get your license back, you may have to meet certain requirements first such as paying a reinstatement fee. Some license revocations require a $100 application fee in order to receive a new license and if you are a non-resident you may be required to pay a $25 application fee. For a suspended license the fee may be $50. Additionally, if your license has been revoked for failing to either pay a fine or appear in court, you may be obligated to pay $70 to the court in order to re-obtain your license.
Do Not Drive On a Suspended or Revoked License
You should not drive if your license has been either suspended or revoked. If you do, you may be charged with either a misdemeanor or a felony depending upon the specific circumstances.
It is not uncommon to be charged with third-degree aggravated unlicensed operation of a motor vehicle. Such a charge is a misdemeanor, which may be punishable by 30 days in jail as well as a fine between $200 and $500.
If your license was suspended or revoked due to driving under the influence and or are charged with driving on a suspended or revoked license with convictions within the last 18 months, you could be charged with second-degree aggravated unlicensed operation of a motor vehicle. This may require a fine of at least $500 and up to 180 days of probation, jail time, or both.
Attorneys at AutoTrafficTickets.Com Can Help with Charges of Driving While Suspended or Revoked
If you or a loved one has been charged with driving on a suspended or revoked license, you could face jail time and a fine if convicted. The situation should not be taken lightly, as it can ultimately affect many aspects of your life from maintaining a job and obtaining and retaining insurance, to going to school. That is why it is so important that you obtain an attorney who is familiar with your local judges and prosecutors, and who understands the law. At AutoTrafficTickets.Com, we will work to provide you with specific information about your case and how to best move forward. For more information or to schedule a free consultation, visit us online or call us at 855-349-8499 today!
Posted in: Suspended License